It. Is. Finished. {Bible in 90 Days Program Recap}

I did it. I read the entire Bible, cover-to-cover, in 90 days. Scratch that: I actually finished on day 87. Even better!

Bible by  Skeggzatori.  Shared under a Creative Commons License.

I was sitting at my dining room table at 1:15–scarfing down Revelation instead of lunch–when I closed my Bible and slid it across the table. “Done!” I felt like doing cartwheels or fist-pumps, but I refrained and gave myself an inner high-five (then Tweeted about it, of course). 😉

I really don’t remember how I stumbled upon Amy’s blog–Mom’s Toolbox–or learned about how she joined readers from across the country (and the world!) into encouragement groups then served as head cheerleader for hundreds of people as they devoted 40 minutes or more per day to Bible reading. I’m glad I did.

It all started with Facebook. Yes, Facebook convinced me that I must read my Bible….it’s good for something after all! 🙂 A friend had posted a list of books that the BBC declared “must-reads” of all time. Being the book nerd that I am, I was deeply shamed when I saw “Old Testament” listed, but couldn’t say with certainty that I had read it all.

So, I got on the internet and declared my intentions to the world. This was really the most important part of the journey in the end. You see, “putting it out there” made me accountable. Members of my Mom’s Toolbox small group were rooting for me, my Sunday school class was rooting for me, my Facebook friends were watching my progress, and there was even one Sunday when The Husband shared my goal with the whole church! Not only did I feel convicted that reading the entire Bible was extremely important, I don’t like to fail. Simple as that.

Plus, I wanted other people to know it was attainable.  I have failed SO many other Bible reading plans. Bible-in-a-year: failed. Gospels-in-30-days: fail. Megan’s Do-It-Yourself Plan: failed. Because this program required so much reading each day (approximately 12 pages), you just couldn’t afford to get behind. I knew that if I slacked too much, I’d never dig myself out of the hole in time to finish in 90 days.

I’ll be honest: it wasn’t all wonderful. Sometimes I got mad that I didn’t have enough time to read other things. Sometimes I was so bored I wanted to poke my eyeballs out (Thanks, Leviticus!). Sometimes things just didn’t make sense and that drove me c-r-a-z-y. Sometimes I felt guilty sitting down to read for such an extended period of time when there were chores to be done. Still, I firmly believe God will bless me for being obedient. He already has; my spiritual life has been refreshed!

The journey doesn’t end here. I took notes as I read (as evidenced by all my questions/comments on my weekly blog recap), and now I plan to tackle those questions by digging out commentaries, etc. to try to (hopefully) clarify some of my questions. But one thing that I’ve come to realize is that I may never know all the answers…and I’m okay with that.

Someone asked me what is the one verse/thought/book that really stuck out to me. That’s hard to answer. So many things were brought to my attention! I guess the two things that I have the most questions about after this read-through is regarding God’s temperament (using violence as a means to fulfill his purpose a la Old Testament) and the Holy Spirit (He was present in the OT and NT, which I had never noticed before). The one really wonderful thing that  stuck out to me was Jesus as the fulfillment of prophecy. It was neat to read the prophets and recognize Him on the pages. Once we got into the NT, it was cool to see how they explained Jesus as a fulfillment of prophecy to their Jewish brethren.

For those contemplating participating in this program: do it! You have nothing to lose and TONS to gain. It’s so wonderful having a peace knowing that I’ve read every, single page of our Holy book. There’s no more wondering, “Have I really read all of Habakkuk?” Why, yes. Yes I have… 🙂

MomsToolbox

Mom’s Toolbox will be hosting another Bible in 90 Days program beginning on July 11 if you want to sign up.

My tips for reading the Bible in 90 days:

  • Set aside a specific time each day to read. When I did this, I felt less stressed about making sure my readings were done each day. Otherwise, you spend the day wondering, “Am I going to have time to finish?” I wasn’t very good at this. Do as I say, not as I do. 😉
  • Grab a notebook. What’s the point in reading if you’re not going to remember all the insights/questions that come up along the way?
  • Tell everyone. Seriously…accountability is the key.
  • Recruit some friends to do it with you. If you don’t have any willing to do it nearby, be actively involved in a Mom’s Toolbox group. Twitter is a great way to stay in touch with others who are reading and a great place to ask questions and get encouragement.
  • “Just keep swimming…” Know that some days you’ll want to quit. Don’t.

 

Want to learn more about my Bible in 90 Days journey?

The post in which I declare my intentions (a.k.a.–“How It All Started”)

How I prepared for the Challenge

Motivation to Join the 90 Day Challenge (a.k.a. “Guilt Trip”)  🙂

Day One

Week One in Recap

Eeyore Must Have Been an Israelite  (insights from Exodus/Numbers)

Week Two Recap

Week Three Recap

Week Four Recap

Week Five Recap

Week Six Recap

Week Seven Recap

Week Eight Recap

One Thing Leads to Another (Sometimes “just do it” leads to much better things!)

Week Nine Recap

Week Ten Recap

Week Eleven Recap

Week Twelve Recap

Happy reading! 🙂

This entry was posted in Reading the Bible, Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It. Is. Finished. {Bible in 90 Days Program Recap}

  1. Shawntele says:

    What a wonderful testimony to how God is at work in our lives.

    Congratulations on a job well done!

    Your fellow Spring ’11 grad,
    Shawntele

  2. Hope says:

    Congrats on finishing!! This has truly been an awesome journey, hasn’t it? 🙂

  3. Jessica says:

    Woooooooooooooo!

  4. DaenelT says:

    Wasn’t this an incredible journey? I’m so glad that I did it and that I shared this challenge with you all. My prayer is that it won’t end here and that we’ll all continue to grow and share with each other. I’ve enjoyed reading your thoughts so much ~ they made me laugh, think and challenge my own beliefs.

  5. Milly Snider says:

    I really enjoy reading your blog and your insights. You seem to say just what is on my mind, but sometimes have a hard time putting into words. This was an incredible journey that we completed and as Daenel stated so nicely ” pray that we all continue to grow and share with each other.” Thanks again for sharing your thoughts.

    • Megan says:

      Well, I have to admit: I had many more things on my mind that I wasn’t able to put into words…but I did note them in my journals. Maybe I’ll be able to make sense of it all someday! 🙂

      Way to go Team #B90Days!

  6. got2havefaith says:

    That is so wonderful! I bought an new Bible last year with the intent of reading it in a year. Yeah, that didn’t happen. I found that when I read it quickly to “finish that Book”, then I missed key points and didn’t fully understand the Word. So, I slowed down. Bought some study guides and went to work. I didn’t finish the Bible is a year but I am okay with that. And I am happy (maybe a little jealous) for you… 90 days is impressive. It is the best selling book worldwide and the greatest story ever told!

  7. I think it’s awesome that you did this! Since I’m new around here, I missed most of your posts, but one of these days, I’m going to follow all those links and read them. Congrats!

  8. Michelle says:

    I’m pretty impressed that you never fell behind! It really is an invigorating feeling to read the last words in Revelation, isn’t it?! Congrats!

    • Megan says:

      Well, I fell behind here and there, but never more than 2 days and I always tried to get caught up before my Monday posts. Falling too far behind would have been impossible for me to recover from. I’m in awe of everyone who ended up weeks behind and managed to finish!

  9. Jill Foley says:

    Congrats on finishing! Although I didn’t do it in 90 days, I felt the same way last year when I finished (3 months ahead of schedule). I’m at it again and am 2 months ahead. I love the feeling of being ahead, and I also love how much God is teaching me.

    Be blessed!

  10. Pingback: Bible » Blog Archive » Bohemian Bowmans: Bible in 90 Days. Sort of. Maybe.

Leave a comment