I’m Going to Read the Bible in 90 Days…Join Me!

I’m a reader. A book junkie. I have a degree in Library Media, for crying out loud.

Recently, a bunch of my fellow book nerds on Facebook were passing around a list that the BBC had declared to be the top novels over time. They also said that people will have only read like 6 out of 100, so it was like calling book nerds out for a throw down.

BBC: “You’ve probably only read like six of these really important books.”

Book Nerds: “What did you say? What? Did? You? Say? Oh no….I’m gonna show you a thing or two.”

So, we diligently copied and pasted that list. We bolded and highlighted. We tagged our book nerd friends. We debated the validity of the list since books like, The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Universe and Bridget Jone’s Diary was included. We tallied our points and boasted about our superior reading ability to the unknown BBC list-maker.

However, there was one thing that brought me great shame. The Old Testament was listed, and I couldn’t say that I had read all of it. Shame, shame, SHAME.

A lot of people struggle with reading their Bibles because they are simply not readers. Not me–I LOVE to read. I have all kinds of Bibles in various translations in my home–one in every room–so I have both access and ability.

Conclusion: I am just a lazy bum.

I let all the unimportant things steal my time away until I fall into bed exhausted thinking, “Well, there goes another day without spending time in the Word.”

The Bible is our lifeline to God. Why do we neglect it so? How can I claim to be a Christian yet confess that I have never actually finished reading through the entire Bible? I know it’s easy to get hung up on all those lineages in the OT and I personally prefer to skip Revelation all-together because it’s so crazy confusing, but still

So, here’s the deal: almost exactly a month from now, on January 3, I’m going to start reading the Bible in it’s entirety. I’m not doing it alone. Oh no–that would be a recipe for disaster. I need accountability (hence why I am posting here). I’m  joining the 90-Day Challenge at Mom’s Toolbox.

MomsToolbox

Why not join us? You can sign up at Mom’s Toolbox where you will be placed in an accountability team. This team will encourage one another through Facebook, Tweets and Blog posts/comments. Then again, you don’t have to have any of those things. You don’t even have to sign up with the Mom’s Toolbox group…you can simply download the reading schedule and work through it on your own. I will be making weekly blog posts about my progress and what I’ve learned/how I’ve been challenged by the 90 Day Bible reading, and I encourage you to at least come here to leave comments about your own experience. Accountability is the key to success!!

You don’t have to purchase the official Bible in 90 Days Bible, but others have said it’s much easier to manage because it’s written in order. You can read why Amy @ Mom’s Toolbox says she likes using it HERE.  FYI–You can purchase these Bibles for as little as $4.

Things to Consider:

  • You will be reading 12 pages a day, which can mean 45 minutes or more depending on your reading speed.
  • This is not an in-depth Bible study; it’s simply about reading the Word. However, you will receive daily devotional links through Mom’s Toolbox.
  • If you are a part of the Mom’s Toolbox group, you must check in every Monday via comments on her blog or by linking a blog post about your progress.
  • AGAIN, remember that you don’t have to be a blogger, a Facebook user or have a Twitter account. You can leave comments on my blog or Mom’s Toolbox if you want to participate.
  • You can read ahead if needed. There are always going to be times when you are traveling, sick, etc. You can do what you need to in order to stay on track…just don’t get *too* far ahead.

For a more in-depth explanation, check out Mom’s Toolbox. You can also check the archives to find out what former Bible in 90 Days grads have to say about the program.

Are you interested? Come on….join me! The more the merrier!! Leave a comment and let me know if you signed up or if you are going to read along with me.

This entry was posted in Reading the Bible and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Going to Read the Bible in 90 Days…Join Me!

  1. Jessica says:

    I tried to do this early this year and FAILED. Lol. I think I did the math in my bible and it was like 20 pages a day. Which is just a lot longer than it sounds.

    I even failed the “Read your bible in a year” book. Mostly because I do better with thinking deeply about small passages at a time. When I start reading multiple chapters at a time I lose details.

    But everybody’s brain works differently. 🙂

    • Megan says:

      I know. I’ve failed the Read-in-a-year thing, too. I HAVE to have group accountability. I do think that I do better thinking about small scriptures, like you, but I also feel like I need to be able to say “I have read the entire Bible cover-to-cover.”

  2. Amy says:

    I’m a failure too.

    I’ll think about it!

    • Megan says:

      Yep, I’m a failure, too! I predict that there will be days when I will be reading big chunks to catch-up or to get ahead, but I’m going to try. If I fail, then I fail. It’s the trying that counts, right? 🙂

  3. Pingback: It. Is. Finished. {Bible in 90 Days Program Recap} | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a comment