Bible in 90 Days {Week 7 Recap}

MomsToolbox 

“Just keep swimming….just keep swimming….” This has been my attitude this week. My reading has gone something like this:

behindbehindbehindahead of scheduleon scheduleon schedulebehind

Ugh! I’ve got to admit: I’ve started to get a pretty crummy attitude lately. My readings have totally enriched my life and my Bible studies, but I’m getting a little cranky about how I never have time to read anything else. For example, I’m bummed that I haven’t had time to tackle my book club’s fiction selection. I know…not exactly a God-centered thinking; I’m just being honest.

However, I DID find my journal. *Whew!* I was really worried that I had lost six weeks of “to-study” notes.

Let’s see if I can piece together some insights/observations from my jumbled mess of notes:

FUNNIES

  • There were several verses pertaining to vomit this week: Proverbs 23:8, 25:16, and–not to be partial to human vomit–there is also a reference to dog vomit in Proverbs 26:11. Pass these on to your seven-year-old boys; I know they will appreciate them. 😉
  • Proverbs 21:9 made me LOL: “Better to live on a corner of the roof
       than share a house with a quarrelsome wife.”
  • Then, there was the lazy guy in Proverbs 22:13: “The sluggard says, ‘There’s a lion outside! I’ll be killed in the public square!'” Oh, sluggard…silly, silly sluggard with your silly, silly excuses…..
  • If you serve your veggies with love, they’ll be tastier than bacon according to Proverbs 15:17. 🙂 
  • Oh, you can’t read through Song of Songs without adding a few laughable moments. Let me know if your husbands ever try a line out of Song of Songs 4:1-2 or 7:2.on ya? Dead sexy. 🙂

INSIGHTS

  • Major discovery from reading Psalms: all the good Psalms have already been made into songs.
  • I think that all the Psalms fall into these themes: distress/depression, deliverance and love.
  • Many times we think that when God asks us to cast our cares upon Him, it’s so we can be relieved of that burden. However, Psalms 55:22   says He will sustain us. I interpret that as just giving us strength to bear the burdens, or to see us through our difficulties.
  • I feel like this is what I’m doing every day when I open my Bible readings: “…indeed, if you call out for insight and cry aloud for understanding, and if you look for it as for silver and search for it as for hidden treasure, then you will understand the fear of the Lord and find the knowledge of God.” (Proverbs 2:3-5)

FAVORITE VERSES

  • Proverbs 5:23 is a great verse that I’d like my daughters to memorize: “Above all, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.”
  • Proverbs is full of good advice, but Proverbs 1:8-19 is a great passage on the dangers of peer pressure.
  • Psalms 68:19  …on having an undivided heart
  • Psalms 90:14 …a beautiful verse on being filled up with God’s love
  • Psalms 119:11 …on why we should read God’s word and what to do with it afterward
  • Psalms 147:3 …a beautiful word-picture of how God cares for the broken
  • Proverbs 12:35 …a cure for anxiety
  • Our plans vs. God’ plans: Proverbs 16:9, Proverbs 19:21

And with that, I bid you “Adieu!” I’ve got some reading to do…

This entry was posted in Reading the Bible and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bible in 90 Days {Week 7 Recap}

  1. Carrie Hernandez says:

    Tell me again how to get started with this. I am planning on starting the next 90 days. I think Dane and I will challenge each other.

  2. Atha says:

    Read that verse about the quarrelsome wife in chapter 21 today. There is also a verse in chapter 20 that says something very similar. Better to live in a corner of the roof than with a troublesome wife, is how I remember it reading.

  3. Pingback: It. Is. Finished. {Bible in 90 Days Program Recap} | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a comment