Bible in 90 Days {Week 12 Recap}

MomsToolbox

Only one more Bible in 90 Days Recap left to go! If all goes as planned, I could be finished reading the Bible through by Friday!!! I can’t TELL you how much that excites me.

I’ve had a pretty long day and still miles to go before I sleep (as Robert Frost would say), so here’s insights/observations from week twelve:

  • I’ve got to admit: right now I’m all kinds of confused about the Holy Spirit. I mean, I’ve never actually been extremely clear on Him in the first place, but I’m even more confused now. Throughout the Old Testament, I noted each time I saw where God sent his Spirit (yes, with a capital “S”)  opening my eyes to the fact that the Spirit was, in fact, pre-Jesus.  These verses lead to more head-scratching as I ponder the time-frame that the Spirit was actually given (When Jesus appeared to the Disciples? Pentecost?) and at what time He is obtained today (Must He first be present for a person to come to belief in Christ? Can a person only obtain Him after belief?): John 20:19-23, Acts 1:5, Acts 2:1-13, Acts 8:14-17, Acts 10:47-48, Acts 19:1-7
  • I have a few questions about the business of praying and casting lots now. Sounds a lot easier to me. 🙂
  • I never realized that forty years passed between the time when Moses left Egypt and when God spoke to him at the burning bush (according to Acts 7:30). That’s a long time to figure out God’s purpose for your life. Guess I shouldn’t complain! 
  • I find it surprising that the believers were meeting in the temple courts (Acts 2:46); you’d think that the religious leaders would have them thrown out!
  • Good policy for all believers: the people received Paul’s message BUT…they searched scriptures everyday to make sure it was true! Acts 17:11
  • Funnies: I think Paul was a bit long-winded (if you can’t tell by his writing style). He talked SO long that a guy actually fell asleep and fell from a third story window! In another instance, he talked “from morning until evening.” My short attention span is glad my preacher knows how to keep sermons within 20 minutes 🙂
  • This verse has always jumped out at me as being very applicable to Americans: “They exchanged the truth about God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator” (Romans 1:25)
  • So, I’ve always been aware of the verse that encourages believers not to leave their unbelieving spouses (I Corinthians 7:13), but what do you make of this verse: “For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife, and the unbelieving wife has been sanctified through her believing husband.” (I Corinthians 7:14) What does it mean that he is “sanctified?”
  • I learned this verse when I was in First Place and I should keep it taped to my fridge: “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” (I Corinthians 10:13)

So…I have many more notes. We read Acts through Philemon, so there’s certainly more to think about/write about, but I’m about to give in to exhaustion (plus I have to finish some of today’s Bible reading before bed!). Feel free to discuss or enlighten in the comments!

This entry was posted in Reading the Bible and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bible in 90 Days {Week 12 Recap}

  1. curiouschild says:

    1. I was always taught that you are saved first and then you receive the Holy Spirit. While the Spirit has always existed (like God and Jesus), he didn’t come until after Jesus departed, he was sent as the comforter to help the believers.

    6. The guy falling out of the window also struck me as funny. I was like whoa, dude. Yeah, that’s a lot of talking…

    As always, your insights are funny, interesting and thought provoking.

    • Megan says:

      That’s what I was taught about the Holy Spirit, too…but these scriptures seem a little less difinitive. I’ve added it to my study list–I plan to go back with commentaries and such and do a little more researching.

  2. Pingback: It. Is. Finished. {Bible in 90 Days Program Recap} | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a comment