Eeyore Must Have Been an Israelite

I hate winter. I hate cold, and grey skies and dead grass.

I just. hate. winter.

Every year when the cold and grey moves in, my soul starts to mimic the weather outside. Just another reason to hate winter: I turn into Eeyore.

Gloom and despair. Despair and gloom. Blah Humbug.

This week, my Bible in 90 Days readings have been in Leviticus and Numbers. The Israelites of the Old Testament are the punching bag of Sunday School classes everywhere.  We like to laugh at their expense because they didn’t seem like the brightest bunch. They were always getting in trouble for the same old stuff. They doubted God even though He continually provided for them and showed them His power. They just acted like a bunch of sissy babies. All they ever did was whine.

If Moses heard it once, he heard it a thousand times…

(Read this in the voice of the most whiney four-year-old you know.)

The Israelites said to them, “If only we had DIED by the Lord’s hand in Egypt! There we sat around pots of meat and ate all the food we wanted, but you have brought us out into this desert to STARVE this entire assembly TO DEATH.” Exodus 16:3

“…again the Israelites started wailing and said, “If ONLY we had meat to eat! We remember the fish we ate in Egypt at no cost—also the cucumbers, melons, leeks, onions and garlic.  But now we have lost our appetite; we NEVER see ANYthing but this manna!” Numbers 11:4-6

(They were traveling)”…but the people grew impatient on the way;  they spoke against God and against Moses, and said, “WHY have you brought us up out of Egypt to die in the wilderness? There is no bread! There is no water! And we detest this MISERABLE food!” Numbers 21:4-5

Pouty Crying Baby by PinkStock Photos!. Shared under a Creative Commons License.

Boooooooo-hoooooo! (Drama queens.) 

Perpetually unhappy. Never satisfied with what’s been given. Impatient. Unable to wait upon the Lord.

Wait a second…

Aw, man…that’s ME. I’m just as bad as those whiney Israelites.

Dadgumit. Guess I’d better find a way to turn my frown upside-down. I mean, I don’t want to bring any plagues upon my household or anything. 😉

Reading the Bible is dangerous business. You never know what you’re going to discover.

(And can I just add….“Hurry up, Spring! Please and Thank You.”)

This entry was posted in For Laughs, Reading the Bible, Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Eeyore Must Have Been an Israelite

  1. Jessica says:

    The Israelites sound like my Wild Things.

    “WHAT CAN I EEEEAT?”

    Lol.

  2. Emily says:

    I am right there with you!! I just want to hibernate and wake up in spring! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I look forward to getting to know you! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Bible in 90 Days {Week Two Recap} | Faith Like Mustard

  4. Rebecca says:

    I turn into a whiner in the winter too….and well, sometimes in spring and summer and fall…but mainly in the winter 🙂 Really though, I am reading close to you in the OT, and I always feel conviction when I realize I’m a lot like those Israelites.

  5. Pingback: It. Is. Finished. {Bible in 90 Days Program Recap} | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a comment