Sunday Smorgasbord…in REVERSE!

Normally, the Sunday Smorgasbord is where I share some of my favorite links that I’ve discovered around the web. This week, I want YOU to share your links on specific topics. Game?

School is rapidly approaching and I’ve got one thing on the brain: lunches. This year, I will be doing a lot of school lunch packing and I want to make a list of various brown-bag options so the girls can throw something together easily without having to eat PBJ everyday. Do you know any great links for lunchbox ideas?

I’m still looking for some supplemental resources to help my kids learn more about ancient Greece and Israel before our big trip this fall. Point me in the right direction if you can.

I really thrive under structure, but when it comes to housekeeping, I’m the most unstructured person I know. Does anyone know where I can find and implement a reasonable chore schedule? Flylady was great but too overwhelming.

What’s your favorite music these days? I realize that I hardly ever listen to music anymore, and I miss it. I think I need to download a few new tunes to my MP3 (yes, an old-fashioned MP3, not an i-thingamajiggy).

We’ve got some road trips coming up: know of any fun games to entertain kiddos while traveling?

Teachers: I’m looking for a few good (online) teacher supply stores and/or any classroom decorating/organization tips you’d like to share!

 Our church is gearing up for our annual Kids Kamp in a couple of weeks. What are some crafts, games or songs that you’d recommend for 8-9 year olds?

Thanks for sharing!!! 🙂

This entry was posted in Link Love and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Sunday Smorgasbord…in REVERSE!

  1. Carrie says:

    Music-I love The Afters. You probably all know the song Light Up The Sky, but I love all their songs. We saw them in concert a few months ago, and they really have a heart for the Lord.

  2. Carrie says:

    Oh yeah, and this isn’t really a craft, but I think you should do the laundry detergent thing as a craft. It is fun, and you could have them share the extras with someone in need.

    Here is a link with step-by-step and pics. http://taylorjourney.blogspot.com/2011/06/how-to-make-your-own-laundry-detergent.html

    • Megan says:

      That’s neat, but I wonder where you get the soap bar? I can’t really do this at camp, but I could make my kids help at home. Let me know if you try it–I want to know how colors hold up.

      • Carrie says:

        They usually have the Fels Naptha or Zote in the laundry department at Wal-mart. You can always substitute with a bar of Ivory soap.

  3. Kimberly says:

    New reader, and loving your blog. Here are my links to share!

    Kids lunches: http://www.bentolunch.net/
    Chores: not sure, however my suggestion is to make a list of what needs done weekly/monthly, and make a check list of sorts. I have found this is better for me, as I’m the only one that knows what needs done in my home! 🙂
    Kids Kamp: http://dltk-bible.com/burnt_match_cross1.htm (i still have mine from Bible School many moons ago!)

    • Megan says:

      Welcome, Kimberly, and thanks for all the great links! I have considered getting a Bento box b/c I think it would help with serving sizes and require my kids to think about filling at least one section with veggies. I’ve seen a lot of church crafts in my day, but I’ve never seen a burnt match cross. Neat! I think even youth would enjoy making one. Thanks again for sharing!

  4. Pop says:

    Have you tried crackers. potted meat or sardines?
    Pop

Leave a Reply

