This-and-That (Alternately Titled: An Underachiever’s Post)

 

Photo Credit: Alex{G}
  • This week, I’m spending my days (quite literally: eight hours daily) in a live, online class in preparation for my new job. It’s invigorating. Seriously! Debating free will versus predestination, comparing Hammurabi’s Code with Old Testament law, looking at “pagan” literature (mythology) through the light of the Christian worldview…all before lunch yesterday! It’s fantastic! It’s making me even more excited to teach this fall.
  • I may or may not be addicted to thin bagels and low-fat strawberry cream cheese.
  •  It is hot in Texas. So. very. hot. I should really try that “frying-an-egg-on-the-sidewalk” bit. Then I should do a rain dance. We are SO dry.
  • The best part of summer is not having to set my alarm clock. I hate my alarm clock: it plays “We Wish You a Merry Christmas,” and I have no idea how to change it. As if the sound of an alarm is not annoying enough, try turning it into a Christmas carol.
  • The current song replaying in my head (no–it’s not “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”) is “Headphones” by Britt Nicole. Special thanks to my kids and our friend who made her own music video version on you tube for getting it stuck in my head. (It’s a good song.)
  •  I’ve really been slacking on my blog reading lately (mainly because I’m reading and preparing for school like crazy). So, if you’re one of my regular blogs, I still love you. I’ll catch up ASAP. 🙂
  • A sweet lady brought me some huge caladiums for my front porch. It is the only thing that I’ve been able to keep alive. Perhaps my black thumb curse has been overcome. Oh wait…the hanging baskets I got for Mother’s Day. Maybe not.

What have you been up to??

 

 

This entry was posted in Random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This-and-That (Alternately Titled: An Underachiever’s Post)

  1. Such a great picture! Love the title of your blog post and strawberry cream cheese is the best. You’re going to be great at your new job. You’ve already made me want to hear all you’ve learned. Glad summer is going well for you.
    -FringeGirl

  2. Love me some Headphones! ❤ I am waaaay behind on blog reading, too! Summer is on warp speed and I get a mere fraction of my usual internet time these days!

    The studying sounds awesome!!

Leave a Reply

