Sunday Smorgasbord

A Smorgasbord of Links From Around the Web

I just read a very interesting article regarding graduates. While I don’t necessarily agree with the author’s opinion that today’s college graduates are “most supervised generation in American history,” but I do agree with his assessment that we are doing young people a disservice by telling them to pursue limitless possibilities of the world just as they are entering adulthood, a time of “finding serious things to tie yourself down to.” My favorite quote: “Most people don’t form a self and then lead a life. They are called by a problem, and the self is constructed gradually by their calling.” Read “It’s Not About You” and tell me: do you agree or disagree?

Another blog post that’s gotten crazy attention this week: “Your kid’s an All Star? Wow! Someday he’ll be average like the rest of us.” I think the title pretty much says it all, but it’s basically about how Christian parents should balance priorities.   

Switching gears…how about “Extraordinary Uses for 16 Household Items?” Or perhaps you’d like to try your hand at making simple, cheap detergent?

The Graphics Fairy has adorable artwork (for free!) that would make great printables or artwork for your home. Check out what Heather from Sit a Spell made with the nature printables she picked up at The Graphics Fairy. Cute! 

Any favorite links this week? Share away!

This entry was posted in Homemaking, Link Love, Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Smorgasbord

  1. Amy says:

    I read the same one about being an all star. It has been my philosophy since day 1. I remember my MIL being appalled that I wasn’t putting my kids in soccer or any kind of organized sport. I thought “WHY? They have so much fun running around the neighborhood in and unorganized fashion!”.

    And as far as putting “me” over “we”. It’s exactly what I told my daughter. She is leaving for a week of camp next Sunday. Then she wanted to go to another church sponsored activity the Saturday before, that is all evening. I turned her down. I told her that family is important too, she is going to be gone all week and so she needs to spend that time with us. Balance.

    • Megan says:

      We do organized sports, but only while it’s fun. As soon as it gets super-competive and all-consuming, we’d be out. And worship/church is always prioritized no matter what.

      As for balance…I wish someone would come up with a magic formula for it!

Leave a Reply

