The Answer

Sometimes, I think people have an idea that we (as a pastor’s family) have a direct line to God.

Photo Credit: nicolasnova

We don’t. There is no red phone connected directly to the heavenly switchboard. I guess that’s a good thing because I fear that our phone bill would be outrageous, and I’d always have the line tied up.

Due to the lack of red phones and celestial easy buttons, I am forced to do what any regular ol’ Christian gal would do when she’s looking for answers: pray.

I’ve been doing a lot of that lately. I’ve really been working on my I Thessalonians 5:17 skills: praying when I wake up, before I go to sleep, while loading the washing machine or backing out of the driveway, showering or taking out the trash, sitting in church or at softball games… 

Remember how I resonated with the post about living in the Land of Inbetween, how I felt like I should be doing something by now but I didn’t have any clear direction? Opportunities arose, and the I Thessalonians 5:17-ing began in earnest. Throughout the past year, I’ve spent a lot of time in prayer about this particular topic–actually, I’ve been praying about it since I was 17 years old. I was waiting for an answer to a specific question, and I finally received it.

I don’t know why we are so surprised when God answers prayers, especially since the Word says that He listens to us and that prayer is effective. I guess we are just cynics, scared to fully believe that God will answer because people are not so trustworthy. Oh–and there’s the bit about getting an answer that we don’t like

ANYWAY…Want to hear my answer? I am going to be teaching school next year! First of all, in this economy, education jobs are h-a-r-d to come by, so it’s a miracle that I even found one. But, wait! It gets even better! I will be working for a private, Christian school that is a University-Model. If you’re not familiar, that basically means classes run on a university schedule (they meet M-W-F) and teachers send home specific lesson plans for students to follow on their “satellite classroom” days (work from home). I’ve long wanted a job that would only require part-time work but in a professional capacity. I literally thought this was a pipe-dream, but God knew the desires of my heart and worked it out in His time! Yay, God!  🙂 

Even though I have my answer, the I Thessalonians 5:17-ing has not stopped (nor should it). There are going to be a lot of changes for me. I’ve never worked in a private school (but I want to dance a jig knowing that I won’t face the pressures of state-mandated standardized testing). I’ve never worked in a Christian school, either (honestly, I’m going to have to reprogram myself into bring the Bible back into the classroom after being taught how to leave it out for so many years). I have a tremendous amount of literature to read this summer (and we’re not talking fluffy reads, folks). Though I have worked in education and co-taught before, I have never had my very own classes to teach, and that it kind of scary. This particular school follows classical education philosophy (think “The Well Trained Mind” or liberal arts) which is kind of new to me; it’s daunting to tackle an entirely different educational model. I also have to figure out all of the issues that go along with working in any job, like how to best manage house and home, juggling schedules, etc.

So, yeah…I’ve obviously got to keep those prayers coming. I’d appreciate any that you want to send my way, too! 

Have you had any answered prayers lately? Please, share!

P.S. Now you know why the blog may get a little quieter this summer. I’m not off having a grand adventure; I’m probably just tackling a pile of books and writing lesson plans. 😉

This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Answer

  1. Congrats on your new job! It sounds perfect. I’ve never heard of a University Model school. I do have the book A Well-Trained Mind and I love the philosophy behind it. Glad you got your answers! 🙂
    -FringeGirl

  2. DaenelT says:

    Congratulations! I’m so excited/happy for you.

  3. Congratulations on your answered prayer! I know you have prayed and waited for a while. I have a friend who sent her kids to a Unversity school. I actually looked for one in this area for my son. What will you be teaching?

  4. Jill Foley says:

    This is the second time in 3 days that I have heard of this model for school! There is apparently one near me that is also Christian. And…I just got the book The Well Trained Mind to read from the library!

    • Megan says:

      That’s interesting! What state do you live in, Jill? I know the university-model started in Texas and has just in the past several years started branching out throughout the U.S. more. My husband actually worked at the very first university-model school while he was in seminary. Strange, huh?

      • Jill Foley says:

        I’m in Oregon. I don’t know if it’s an actual “university model” school, but it’s similar in that the students attend school for 3 days, then homeschool the other 2 days.

  5. Beverly says:

    Congrats! You’ll do great with your own room, and I am so glad you don’t have to teach to the TAAS test! (or whatever it’s called now).

    • Megan says:

      YES! Me, too! I’m telling you…teacher morale is at an all-time low around here (and pretty much everywhere) with all the test pressure. Throw in budget-cut pressure (so many have cut jobs in Texas) and it’s almost more than anyone can stand. I’m excited, but nervous!

  6. Carrie says:

    It is funny sometimes, how long God makes us wait on Him. I know you have dreamed of this since you were in high school. You will be a great teacher!

Leave a Reply

