“Please hold…” (Waiting on God)

Photo Credit: Thunderchild7

Is there anything more annoying than being on hold? Maybe listening to someone chew with their mouth open, but other than that, nothing comes to mind. For a person who feels the need to be constantly on-the-go or who is permanently multitasking, being on hold is akin to having to walk across hot coals: brutal.

Well, that’s exactly where I’m at these days. I’m stuck on hold (minus the annoying elevator music). I’m waiting–not too patiently, I might add–for an answer from God about a particular subject. I’m tempted just to twiddle my thumbs or walk in circles in the meantime, but somehow, that doesn’t seem quite right. What should I do instead?

There are plenty of verses that mention waiting on God like Psalm 119:114, Psalm 130:5, Micah 7:7.  All of these verses use the Hebrew word “yachal” which means “hope, wait expectantly.”  So the good news is that, though I wait, I can wait expectantly knowing that God will be faithful to answer.

So, in the meantime, I’ll continue to study His Word and pray until I get that answer because (as I was reminded last week during my Bible-reading):

“I love the Lord because he hears my prayers and answers them. Because he bends down and listens, I will pray as long as I breathe.” Psalm 116:1 (TLB)

So I wait….expectantly.



What are you waiting for these days?

This entry was posted in Prayer, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to “Please hold…” (Waiting on God)

  1. Ooh… Waiting. God has made me do quite a bit of that in my short lifetime. Psalm 25:4-5 instantly come to mind when I hear the word.

    What am I waiting for right now? I’m waiting for God to bring me another brother or sister through adoption. 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Same here, sister. Same. Here.

  3. Yep, that was my theme song while we waited for God to get us a new job. I think I listened to is 100 bajillion times. I’m praying for you! It isn’t fun to go through, but so worth it on the other side.

  4. Pingback: All’s Quiet on the Homefront | Faith Like Mustard

  5. Pingback: The Answer | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a Reply

