Where in the World is Your Compassion Kid?

Did you remember that Friday was the virtual letter writing party for Compassion sponsors? I hope you were able to get a letter in the mail (because we all know how important letter writing can be).

This post is not-so-official shout-out to my favorite PBS geography show from grade school: Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?

Now you have the theme song stuck in your head, right? You’re welcome. ;)

But back to Compassion…

In my last letter, I took Michelle’s advice and wrote about spring ( what plants we are growing, how dry it is here and how we need rain for our cotton farmers so they can plant their crops, etc.), but I’ve already started planning ahead for my next letter. The theme: geography, of course. More specifically, where in the world my Compassion kids live in relation to us.

My first thought was to download a map and mark our locations on it. So I did…


This map will be going to Happyness in Tanzania.

Then I began to wonder what the actual distance was between us. Google maps was no help, but timeandmaps.com has a distance calculator.

It’s not an “exact” calculation (because you have to select the nearest airports rather than listing actual cities), but it’s a good approximation!

I thought this geography-themed letter would also be a good time to talk about our landscape, regional crops, etc. It’s like a social studies lesson all wrapped up in a friendly letter! :)

I also found some great geography printables at Homeschool Creations that might be useful for letter-writing.

As always, be sure to check out Michelle’s blog or Jill’s blog for more letter-writing ideas and information on Compassion sponsorship.

Have you written your Compassion kid lately? What did you share with him/her?

This entry was posted in Compassion International and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Where in the World is Your Compassion Kid?

  1. Thanks for the shout-out, friend! I love the map! :D

  2. Amy says:

    I sent maps to my Compassion kids too! I put stickers where they are and where I am and told them the distance between us. I explained how it’s really far, but we are blessed because we were brought together despite our distance. :)

  3. This is an awesome idea! Thank you! I sponsor two girls in Tanzania and letter correspondence is very slow, but they seem to want to know everything about where I live. :)

    • Megan says:

      My correspondence with Tanzania is very slow as well. I just keep writing and anxiously checking the mailbox each day! Which projects are your children in? My Happyness is in ELCT Maji Ya Chai Student Center. I wonder if they are close?

      • My Zanura is in the Elim Pentecoste Babati Student Center, which is sort of in Northern Tanzania.

        My Riziki is in EAGT Kondoa Student Center, which is in Zanzibar, a little island but still considered Tanzania.

  4. Jill Foley says:

    Love this – and thanks for the shout-out!

    I have sent maps before, but only of the US – I’ve never thought to send one of the whole world. Care if I share this idea on my blog?

  5. Elizabeth says:

    This is a great idea! I will definitely have to include this in my next letter. Thank you!
    Elizabeth
    windowsandbananas.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

