Praying Scripture for Your Children

Earlier this week, Kelli wrote about how she gets up early and prays scripture for her children. Consider me inspired…well, all except the “getting up early” part. ;)

Later that evening as I was reading my daily Bible reading, I found the perfect scripture to pray for The Eldest:

“My prayer for you is that you will overflow more and more with love for others, and at the same time keep on growing in spiritual knowledge and insight, for I want you always to see clearly the difference between right and wrong, and to be inwardly clean, no one being able to criticize you from now until our Lord returns. May you always be doing those good, kind things which show that you are a child of God, for this will bring much praise and glory to the Lord.”  ~ Phillipians 1:9-11 (The Living Bible)

I also decided to seek out verses for The Youngest. This is what I found:

“If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.” Romans 10:9

and Matthew 6:25-26 that she might let go of worry and understand how precious she is to God.

What about you? Do you pray scripture for your children (or for anyone)? Please share them!

 

Photo Credit: khrawlings
This entry was posted in Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Praying Scripture for Your Children

  1. This has been on my mind for quite a while. I just need to take the time and look up and write down scriptures to use when I pray for my family. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. kelli says:

    Those are great verses! I’ve never read The Living Bible translation. I love that! Praying scripture over our kiddos makes praying a lot more fun, I think. It’s so much more personal! Thanks for sharing! :)

    • Megan says:

      I only have one Living Bible translation in my house (I’m a firm NIV gal), but I happened to be reading it and it was a perfect verse fit, I thought.

      Thank YOU for sharing. :)

  3. Jessica says:

    I admittedly don’t do this. But am actually reading an ebook about it right now.

  4. Beverly says:

    inspired….thanks for writing Megan!

  5. Romans 12:21 is one that I turn into a prayer–Help them to not be overcome by evil, but help them to overcome evil with good.

Leave a Reply

