Survival of the Sickest

Ever wondered what a mama bear looks  like after hibernating? Wonder no more…

The last 24 hours have been miserable for this mama bear. After a full week of cleaning up other people’s vomit and tending to a child with strep throat, I went down for the count myself. I could do nothing more than lay in my bed and breathe which may be the worst part for a person who always has to be doing something. At one point, I was even yelling at my brain to shut-up, hoping that, in complete silence, my white blood cells could focus on destroying the evil germ invaders in my body.

I kept waiting for Calgon or somebody to take me away, but they didn’t show up. It’s no coincidence that I’m wearing a shirt that says “Rescue” with a big, red cross across the front: I wanted to make it easy for the EMTs to locate me. 

Seriously, though…no matter if it’s a stomach virus, a migraine or a sprained ankle, I always walk away from sickness being SO THANKFUL for health. It also makes me empathetic toward people who are battling chronic illness or taking long-term treatments such as chemo. God bless ‘em. I just don’t know how they go about their day with a smile on their face. They are obviously much stronger people than I.

On the upside, I’m going to hurry over to my scales this morning because after 24 hours of consuming nothing but two 7-Ups and three saltine crackers, they are sure to bring tidings of joy. (If anyone says “It’s just water weight” I’m going to put my fingers in my ears and repeat “Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na” until you leave. I’m looking for the silver lining here, people!)

Be thankful for your health today!

Inquiring minds want to know: how do you survive illness?

This entry was posted in For Laughs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Survival of the Sickest

  1. Jessica says:

    Look at you, all truth in blogging with your mama bear picture! :D

    Sorry you were sick. But glad you feel better.

  2. Amy says:

    I understand. Totally. I went from a the stomach flu (which we ALL got)and diarrhea to a cold to a sinus infection. I have never been SO thankful for good health. ((Now we sit at seasonal allergies, ugh!)

    Glad you are feeling better!

  3. Glad you’re feeling a little bit better! It is kinda ironic that you’re wearing a ‘rescue’ shirt. :-)

Leave a Reply

