Should I Be Sad That Osama Bin Laden is Dead?

Photo Credit: brittanylynae

Last night, sometime between cleaning up after my sick daughter (Fun!) and going to bed, I meandered over to Twitter where I heard the latest breaking news: Osama Bin Laden was dead by the hands of American military forces.

I immediately flipped on to the news to learn more, but eventually muted the tv and went back to Twitter which, as it turns out, is  much more amusing.

 

Case in point:

@BrettTurnerMusi: Can we go back to $1.75 gas now?!

@laurenlankford: I hope this many people tweet when I die.

@ezraklein: So does this mean I can keep my shoes on at the airport?

@AmandaStratton: The girl married her Prince. The bad guy is dead. It’s a real Disney weekend here on Earth.
 
@BohemianBowman: You guys are just going to have to let me know if Obama says the world is ending, because I don’t have tv. 

@mommyboots: Obama: “Osama Bin Laden is dead.” Twitter: “Yeah. We know.”

@OsamaInHell: Wait, what? 

See what I mean? As I was enjoying a giggle or two and feeling kind of proud that the military had accomplished a goal a decade in the making, it happened: Tweets and Facebook statuses started passing out a heavy dose of Christian guilt. How could we rejoice in the death of a man? Better yet, how could we rejoice in the death of a man who most certainly will spend eternity in hell? 

For the record, I wasn’t dancing around my living room in celebration or gathering in the streets with an American flag raised overhead, but I won’t deny it: I wasn’t sad that Bin Laden that had been killed.

 Was that wrong? As a Christian, should I have mourned that another person had left this life without knowing The Truth?

Almost a year after 9-11, I remember thinking, “What would happen if Saddam or Bin Laden renounced their wicked ways and accepted the forgiveness of Christ?” Can you imagine the impact? Honestly, it sounded a little ridiculous–something that would never happen–but then I remembered: nothing is impossible with God. So, I began praying. I prayed that these guys would experience the redemptive love of Jesus and turn our world upside-down. Sadly, I have no reason to believe that those prayers were answered.

 
Personally, I am not rejoicing over Bin Laden’s death, but I am happy that justice has been done. I mean, the man did kill thousands through the years (not just Americans) and promoted a violent form of Islam which has oppressed people across the world and caused many to live in fear. He wasn’t exactly a friend of God. You can flip through the pages of your Bible and see that though God is abundant in love and mercy, He also believes in justice.
 
In the end, Bin Laden was responsible for his actions and, eventually, the punishment for those actions just like you and I. And just like you and I, he was ultimately responsible for eternal destiny.  
 
I guess, if I’m going to be sad about this whole ordeal…I should be sad that he grew up in a land that is hostile to the Gospel, sad that we are not making more progress in the Middle East, sad that so many believe that the Bin Laden is actually a good man who has now received an eternal reward instead of an eternal punishment. I can be sad about that.
 
What do you think? How should Christians respond to the news of Bin Laden’s death?
 
 
 
 
 
 
  

 

 
This entry was posted in Contemplations and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Should I Be Sad That Osama Bin Laden is Dead?

  1. Amy says:

    I agree with this:

    Personally, I am not rejoicing over Bin Laden’s death, but I am happy that justice has been done

    I am not going to celebrate Osama’s life, but I am also not going to celebrate his death.

  2. Jessica says:

    Yeah … I had to break down and write a post about Post Traumatic Stress and why it caused my husband to pursue missionary work…

  3. Jessica says:

    Okay, my comment keeps disappearing and I don’t know why. Have I been marked spam? Lol.

    • Megan says:

      I don’t know why spam is a bad thing. I always enjoyed it pan fried with mircacle whip and white bread when I was a kid. 😉

  4. Kelli says:

    It’s like we wrote the same post. I do agree with you. I don’t think his death is cause for celebration, but I do think it’s okay to breath a sigh of satisfaction and relief. God is Love, but He’s also Just. I’m glad He’s both…

    🙂

    • Megan says:

      I’m glad, too…or we’d ALL be in trouble!

      Bin Laden and I have one thing in common: we’re both unworthy of God’s love.

  5. DaenelT says:

    My Monday Mingle vlog (http://livingoutsidethestacks.com/2011/05/monday-mingle-god-bless-america-and-protect-our-troops/) was about this very topic ~ I understood the celebrations but something about them just didn’t sit right with me. I have to admit to retweeting a couple of humorous updates then being struck by “Christian guilt” and deleting them (I know you can’t totally erase them but…). I don’t know, this is too much like the celebrations seen in the Middle East on September 11th.

    • Megan says:

      I will admit that in my haste to leak the breaking news, my Facebook status was written in poor taste (I wasn’t making fun, but I sounded a bit too celebratory). I deleted it after I thought about it for a bit.

  6. Beverly says:

    everyone’s reaction is mixed…feeling a little mixed myself…unbelief, intrigue, relief – albeit temporary, proud of military forces (they hunted him down and found him in his own backyard, not an easy feat), but I can’t say glad ever entered the continuum of emotions. dunno…

    • Megan says:

      Yeah, at first I was mostly filled with relief…but then I remembered: there are plenty of Osama-wanna-be’s waiting to take his spot. *sigh*

  7. Karey Madison Cone says:

    Sad for his death? No…I am sad though that we the Americans are celebrating his death, waving flags over death is a sad, sad thing. Yes he did horrible things, we all have our scars, some bigger then others. With his death though who says that someone just as bad as him comes into power while we are waving flags in revenge? I have learned that revenge with death just leaves a empty hole…

    I shed 1 tear for that poor soul, I know he was the ¨Bad guy¨ and all but he was still human, still one of gods children.

    • Megan says:

      I agree. The dancing in the streets mentality is more than unsettling. Sunday night, I tweeted about how all the celebrations were going to be broadcast on worldwide news coverage. It made me feel a little sick inside.

  8. got2havefaith says:

    The Tweets are hilarious! Kind of makes me what to get a Twitter account.

    I personally have a had a hard time with this news. On the one hand he has killed so many people…innocent people. So I should be happy. Right? But how can I be happy for a guy who didn’t know Christ? Should I pray for the enemy? The news says he wasn’t armed when the Navy Seals killed him…they are forgetting that neither were the people he killed or help kill. It never occurred to me until now to pray for his sins.

  9. Pingback: Snow day snippets {5.7.11} « Grow Up!

Leave a Reply

