Totally Off-Topic: Watch Your Back, Martha!

Since this is a blog about faith growing, you’d think I’d write some spiritual post about Martha of the famous Biblical duo.

I’m not.

No, this post is dedicated to THE Martha: Martha Stewart. The one who makes domestication seem complicated. The one who makes you feel like you need a PhD in Craftiness with an emphasis in Decoupage. THAT Martha.

I have been in redecorate/reorganize mode lately. It seems to be in the air. The Queen has been redecorating bedrooms and Fringegirl has been remodeling baths.  I guess since spring is all about rebirth and rejuvenation, it just comes naturally.

So I’m going totally off-road off-topic today. Who wants to see my latest craftiness? No one? Well, tough. Here it goes…

The remodel of The Youngest’s Room:

Sorry I don’t have a before photo, but just imagine a headboardless bed with a light blue comforter and color-cordinated quilt on top, and no curtains. Yeah…it was pretty plain. She picked the light purple walls last year (a kind of consolation prize having to move–LOL!), so I had to find something that matched. JCPenney to the rescue! The comforter set and curtains were on clearance. Score!

I picked up the headboard off of Craigslist. Sadly, I probably ended up paying full retail price after I painted-stripped-repainted it. Grrr…. And promise you won’t look on the backside, okay? Let’s just say, Mama got tired of doing it “the right way.”  😉

We’ve had this lamp f-o-r-e-v-e-r. I painted it light pink to match The Eldest’s room when she was a wee laddie of two years old (turning 12 this week!). I used leftover purple spray paint, but it was a bit too “plum” for my taste. So, I used some scraps of scrapbooking paper leftover from another project.

 I think Martha should be most proud of this cute and simple little addition. It cost less than $5 to make! I got the frame at a half-price sale at Hobby Lobby, one piece of polka dot scrapbook paper (also half-price) and an “L” cut out of white paper I had lying around. I did have to spray paint the frame, but still. FIVE DOLLA’!

It’s all about details, right Martha? I picked these cute little switchplate covers up at Hobby Lobby for–you guessed it–half price! I think they cost a whopping three bucks each. Woot!

The Youngest wanted a dry erase board in her room so she could play school. (It’s still a mystery to me why she wants to play school, the one thing she claims to hate most.) I complied with her wishes after bartering a trade. The “play kitchen” has now been moved to the garage sale pile.

Please notice the bookshelf and dresser that I painstakingly painted last fall. After that undertaking, I swore I would never paint furniture again. That promise lasted a whole six months.

BTW, that TV is only used to watch videos–I’m talking old school stuff like Rodger and Hammerstein musicals that we only have on VHS–because she houses the only VCR dinosaur left in our home. I don’t like kids having TVs in their rooms, especially TVs with cable connections. *Rant over* 🙂

I needed to add something above the drab dry erase board, so I picked up these chipboard letters at (all together now): “Hobby Lobby for half price!” *Cue audience “Ooo’s” & “Ahhh’s”* Another project that cost less than 5 dollars. All I did was cut and glue. Seriously, I even used The Youngest’s purple glue stick to complete this one!

So watch your back, Martha Stewart. Spring is in the air and the competition is getting fierce. 😉

This entry was posted in Homemaking, Mama Musings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Totally Off-Topic: Watch Your Back, Martha!

  1. Amy says:

    I absolutely love your daughter’s room! It gives me some great ideas for my next project, which is my daughters’ room!

    I laugh every time you comment on my room re-do and call me Martha, because I suck at decorating. I can build a bed. I can lay flooring. I can switch out electrical lights. I can not decorate though. LOL.

  2. Sarah says:

    This is the second time I’ve heard someone mention Hobby Lobby this week. Is that You, Lord?

  3. Shan says:

    she get’s the school playing from me!!!! haha

  4. I love it! She has a beautiful room. The plum lamp is pretty and it was ingenious to use scrapbook paper. I’ve been thinking about wall papering my refrigerator with scrapbook paper. Anything I do will be an improvement. I’m sure your daughter is in love with her new space and that’s awesome.

  5. Christin says:

    Hi Megan!! Stopping by from Joyful Mothering to let you know you won the ListPlan It giveaway!! Yay!
    I need you to email me so I can forward your email to Jennifer, the owner of ListPlan It so she can set up your Print Membership for you! 🙂 You’re gonna love it (and go list crazy!)
    My tip: Use 2-3 lists at a time — and get a BINDER! 🙂
    Congrat’s!! 🙂

  6. Paula Wisdom says:

    Meggie, you are going to hate this, but your mama can’t resist the urge to tell you that Hannah is not a laddie, but a lassie. Sorry! 🙂 Love you! And, you did a great job on the room.

  7. twiceknit says:

    Looks great! I especially love the lamp.

Leave a Reply

