“Crazy Love” Quotables

Over Christmas, my brother-in-law shared a copy of the book Crazy Love by Francis Chan. Normally, I have no issues with underlining and highlighting a book to pieces, but for some reason, I decided to use sticky notes instead of marking up this book. While doing a little re-organizing, I found the book–and it’s pile of sticky notes–lying around. I decided that it’s time to pass the book on to another reader and set my sticky notes free.  What better place to store my thoughts than on a blog (paper free! clutter free!)? Here are some of my favorite quotes from the book:

“Most of us use ‘I’m waiting on God to reveal His calling on my life’ as a means of avoiding action. Did you hear God calling you to _________ (watch t.v., exercise, volunteer for Cub Scouts, etc.)?” p. 169

“As I survey my life, I realize that those times [putting oneself in a situation that requires God to come through] have been most meaningful and satisfying.” p. 169

“If a guy were dating my daughter but didn’t want to spend the gas money to pick her up or refused to buy her dinner because it cost too much, I would question whether he were really in love with her.”p. 139  Are American church goers really love God because we are so hesitant to do anything for Him.

“We’ve made safety our highest priority. We’ve elevated safety to the neglect of whatever God’s best is.”

“This is why I cannot say in this book, ‘Everyone is supposed to be a missionary,’ or ‘You need to sell your car and start taking public transportation.’ What I can say is that you must learn to obey God, especially in a society where it’s easy and expected to do what is most comfortable.” p. 168

Chan also suggests “aspiring to the median,” meaning that people should consider what the median American income is and, if they make more than that, give the rest away. In the book, he cites the median American income in 2006 as being $46,000.

“Things that matter most is how we use what we have been given, not how much we make or do compared to someone else. What matters is that we spend ourselves.” p. 127

“What are you doing now that requires faith?” p. 124

“‘Our greatest fear as individuals and as a church should not be of failure, but at succeeding at things in life that don’t matter.'” Quote from Tim Kizzier, p. 93 

Crazy Love was a good book with some challenging, thought-provoking questions, but I wouldn’t categorize it as completely life-altering as some have. Have you read it? What were your thoughts? Any comments on the quotes above?

This entry was posted in Books, Giving, Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Crazy Love” Quotables

  1. Jessica says:

    If I’m remembering correctly, the parable of the soils (seeds) challenged me in that book. (I can’t go back and check, because I gave the book away. Figures.)

    Seems like Chan suggested that only one of the four soils were “saved” and I had always read the parable as 3 out of the 4 soils were “saved”, but that only one produced fruit. In hindsight, and now that I’ve read a lot more of the bible (especially the parts about bearing fruit) I think I agree with Chan.

  2. I haven’t read this book, but I have it sitting on my shelf collecting dust. I’ve wanted to read it for a while, but I keep allowing other things to come first. I think it’s time to dust of my copy and start reading. Thank you for sharing this with us!
    -FringeGirl

  3. Great quote: “Did you hear God calling you to _________ (watch t.v., exercise, volunteer for Cub Scouts, etc.)?”

    Confession: We participated in Compassion Sunday this weekend and I had a few people take sponsorship packets home to “pray about it” (I know, bad bad bad! But I know the people so I can follow up). I never want someone to make an emotional decision or do something without consulting God about it, but I just want to ask, “Did you pray about the latte you bought this morning? Did you pray about the drive through at McD’s? Did you pray about joining the gym?”

    Haha, how gracious and Christlike (AND hypocritical!) would that be, right? But still, I get frustrated.

    I blogged about that frustration:
    http://www.welcometolove.net/2011/03/pragmatism-and-praying-about-it.html
    Iffen ya wanna check it!

    Thanks for sharing, I’m so excited to read this book! Also, thanks for the reminder to write an update on what I’m reading! 🙂
    Sarah Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

