Boys Will Be Boys {It’s a Worldwide Phenomenon}

Betcha won’t guess what we received in the mail recently? A little bundle of cuteness all the way from Peru: our first letter from our Compassion correspondence child, José!

Have I ever told you that one of my “Bucket List” items is to learn conversational Spanish? No? Okay…now you know. So I decided that I would try to figure out all the Spanish words before reading the English translation. I dusted off my high school Spanish-class skills and the few that I’ve picked up from trying to read Latina magazines in the check-out line at the grocery store and took a stab at it.

Yeah…so I didnt’ figure it all out on my own. I AM happy to report that I managed to figure out that he has a brother, a sister and a mama named Esther. (Please refrain from telling me that your 6-year-old could have figured that out with their Sesame Street skillz).

I also played that game with my daughters. They got a little huffy. “Just reeeeeead it!!” 

Even though it was a simple form letter that they use for younger kids (he is only five), we still learned a few new things about him. His favorite food is fried rice, specifically a Peruvian dish called chaufa. It’s not too much different from one of my favorite dishes, Japanese fried rice, so we can now bond over a shared love of food. 🙂

We already knew that our little guy loves cars and trucks and any kind of sport involving balls, but the picture that he drew for us confirmed that he is definitely all boy…

 

Apparently, he likes Spiderman. Is there some kind of universal boy rule that states you must adore a super-hero?

He did ask why we chose to sponsor him. That’s going to be a tricky one to answer. We technically don’t sponsor him. Since he is our correspondence child, we write to him and provide the “human touch” so-to-speak while someone else pays his sponsorship fees. (Sidenote: if you are interested in being a correspondent, call Compassion and ask them to sign you up!) I think the heart of the question is “Why do you think I’m special enough to sponsor? Why did you pick me?” 

Sadly, he also asked us to pray for reconciliation for his parents. When we first received this assignment, his father was listed as being in the home. Evidentially, they have separated since then because Jose did not list him as a family member.

In other Compassion news, I got a shipment of cool promotional stickers.

I thought this sticker would look really cute on my laptop. I was right….but it only lasted a whole 15 minutes. The Eldest claimed the spare for her school binder so, of course, The Youngest could not be left out. We peeled it off the computer and it now promotes Compassion at our local elementary school from 8:00-3:40 each day. 😉

I also got a couple of window clings. Did I mention that it is all FREE. Get some for yourself RIGHT HERE.

This entry was posted in Compassion International and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Boys Will Be Boys {It’s a Worldwide Phenomenon}

  1. JD says:

    We explained to our correspondence children that God had chosen them for us, and that He knew we’d love them so very, very much and take our correspondence with them very seriously 🙂

    I LOVE the letter you received!! So sweet! Praying for his family…

  2. Jessica says:

    That is funny about the spiderman drawing. And NO, I didn’t know about Compassion stickers and window decals! Neato.

    Also, one time last year in a letter to our spanish speaking child I tried to write most of the letter in simple spanish. Lol. I hope she didn’t think I was an idiot. : )

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Boys Will Be Boys {It’s a Worldwide Phenomenon} | Faith Like Mustard -- Topsy.com

  4. Carrie Hernandez says:

    I am thinking of doing this, since we can’t support a child financially right now. I didn’t realize that Spanish was the language in Peru. I think I might could write to them in simple terms.

    p.s.
    The Spiderman picture is adorable. He is a good artist. Makes me think of Kaven and all of his superhero toys. I bet he gives a “mean” hug, just like Kaven. 🙂

    • Megan says:

      You should do it! Its been great for the girls to think beyond themselves. They like drawing pictures to send or helping me find cheap stuff (like stickers) to mail.

  5. I absolutely LOVE this post! I tried to translate the letter, too. That is too funny about spidy – and sad for his family.

    I didn’t realize there was a correspondence option. We will definitely look into that. My husband has a minor in Spanish and doesn’t get to use it in Arkansas as much as he did in Texas. This would be a great option.

    • Megan says:

      Yes, correspondence is great. I’ve always been the pen pal type, so it’s right up my alley. All letters go through a translator first so they can check for regional variances even if you speak the child’s language.

  6. I just recently got my information for my Correspondence child! I actually chose her because she lives in a spanish speaking country and I am hoping that I can make her laugh by trying to write to her in spanish!

    “Hola Nina! Me llamo Matt Foley…”

    My other two sponsor girls are my Haiti-babies, they speak Creole which is fairly similar to french so one of my bucket list items is to learn conversational french! Let me know if you’re actively pursuing learning spanish and what method you’re using!

    • Megan says:

      You’ll have to tell me more about World Vision sponsorship (maybe I need to poke around your blog a little more!). I tried to get someone to explain to me the difference in the way Compassion vs. WV work, and the WV people didn’t explain it very well. I know both are reputable, good organizations, though.

  7. Pingback: Our Growing Family | Faith Like Mustard

  8. Pingback: My Mailbox Runneth Over | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a Reply

