Christmas Traditions

We have several Christmas traditions in our family. My mother always gave us a new ornament representative of a milestone that was reached during the year, a new hobby that was taken up or a dream that was expressed. When I got married, I already had enough ornaments to cover our little tree (good thing, because we had zero money to spend on such things).

I had ornaments like this little guy who has been around for as long as I can remember.

Then we receieved this Lennox ornament with a wedding gift to add to the collection.

I used to have a tree with nothing but nativity ornaments, but once we had children of our own, I decided to continue the tradition with them.

So, of course, we had ornaments like….

…the requisite “a child is born” bootie.

We also have “watch me grow” photo ornaments (though not for every year).

But we also do more personal things like…

…an ornament to commemorate The Eldest’s first attempt at playing on a basketball team, or more importantly…

…the year of The Eldest’s salvation! (Let me tell you, it’s hard to find salvation ornaments! I had to make this one out of a bookmark.)

Awww….and remember when The Youngest learned how to read? (We mark all of the ornaments with initials and the date.)

We also have some food-related traditions. We like to make cake balls to pass out to friends and neighbors.

Devil bites are my absolute favorite dessert! (My family also loves them, as you can tell from the labeling.)

And yes, I am aware of the irony of the preacher’s wife who passes out devil bites all over town. 😉 

But I think I’m going to have to get rid of this tradition. I have to special-order expensive chocolate enrober and then it takes f-o-r-e-v-e-r to make the things (bake cake, make balls out of cake, freeze cake balls, dip cake balls, cool and wrap cake balls…).  I may stop passing out food at Christmas and just save it for some random day like February 12th or July 18th when friends and neighbors don’t have a pile of goodies.

We have other traditions like Grandma reading the Christmas story out of Luke to all the grandchildren, church services on Christmas Eve and eating cheese grits (a southern casserole that my husband can’t stand).

What are some of your family traditions?

This entry was posted in Family, Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas Traditions

  1. Amy says:

    I think that we don’t actually have a lot of Christmas traditions. The one that sticks out in my mind, but we only started last year is watching the Polar Express on Christmas Eve. It’s my favorite tradition. My parents always come over Christmas morning and unwrap gifts with them. We thought we would change tradition this year and do it different, but the kids put up a fuss. I guess we are really boring Christmas people. LOL.

  2. Jessica says:

    We don’t really have any traditions either. I guess it’s mainly because every year is different for us usually, a different place, a different house. But partly it’s also just our personality, because I guess being nomadic would make some people make sure to keep certain traditions for holidays even more so. *Shrugs* I do have a couple of food items that I’ve done for several years in a row, so I guess it’s borderlining on tradition now. Like Cinnamon Spiced Nuts and peppermint sugar cookies. Which will probably get blogged about in the very near future. Lol.

Leave a Reply

