Oh, Happyness!

Saturday, we walked out to the mailbox and ripped open a letter, followed shortly by several excited squeals when we saw this signature….

Yes! We recieved our first long-awaited letter from our Compassion child, Happyness in Tanzania!

We learned several things about her:

  • She is in third grade (we thought she was in second)
  • She has a little brother named Oscar who is in first grade
  • Her favorite subjects in school are: Kiswahili (the language–Swahili), Geography and Civics
  • She has several friends–she shared their names
  • Her favorite verse is Psalm 104:24, “How many are your works, Lord! In wisdom you made them all; the earth is full of your creatures.” I think she might be an animal lover. 🙂

 We also discovered that she is quite the little artist. Evidence #1…

Adorable, yes?

I noticed that this letter was written approximately two weeks after I sent my introductory e-mail, but I can’t tell if she recieved it before she wrote. I’d really like to get an estimate on how long it takes to reach her center. I know that letters can usually be delivered in three weeks, but some places get them sooner and some later.

My girls and I often sing Oh Happiness by The David Crowder Band when we are talking about Happyness.

Oh, happiness
There’s grace enough for us
And the whole human race

Friend or foe
Stranger or kin
All who come
Begin again

Hard or frail
Rich or poor
All in need
Need fear no more

Such a thing to give away
.
.
.
Oh, happiness
There’s grace enough for us
And the whole human race

I think it’s pretty appropriate, don’t you? 🙂

Sponsor a Compassion child. I promise, the joy will be all yours!

This entry was posted in Compassion International and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh, Happyness!

  1. Amy says:

    Yay, yay, yay, yay! Congratulations! I am so excited for you!

  2. Jessica says:

    You girls are making me so jealous with your letters! 🙂

    But *happy dance* for you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

