“I am going to tell you about the Christmas story.”

I asked each of my girls to write a letter or draw a picture to send to our Compassion kids when I was putting together our package for the month. Both girls asked Happyness questions like “Who are your friends?” “Do you like soccer?” and “What is your favorite color?” The Youngest decided to write a Christmas-themed letter for José. It’s always interesting to see what comes out of the pencils of babes….

In case you aren’t fluent in “second grader,” I will translate:

Dear  José,

I am going to tell you about the Christmas story. Long ago, there was a girl named Mary. One day an angel came up to Mary and said: you are going to have a baby and you are going to name him Jesus. Jesus was the son of God. And so Mary got to marry Joseph. So one day Joseph asked Mary to go to Bethlehem with him. They traveled for many days and when they reached Bethlehem, Mary had her baby. Jesus was given three gifts. Everyone who came to see Jesus followed the star. I am praying for you, José.

That pretty much covers it, don’t you think? I mean, she didn’t get into salvation through the cross or the resurrection, but I have a feeling she’s saving that for a Easter-themed letter.  😉

This entry was posted in Compassion International, Family, Holidays and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “I am going to tell you about the Christmas story.”

  1. Amy says:

    Ooooh. I love this. It gives me ideas!

  2. Jessica says:

    I am FLUENT in second grader. FLUENT!

    🙂

  3. Jessica Day says:

    I am pretty fluent too 😉

Leave a Reply

