Letter From a Compassion Pastor

This week, I received an unexpected letter in the mail all the way from Tanzania.

No, we haven’t heard from Happyness yet, but we did receive a letter from Pastor Tertio Mbise who oversees the Child Development Center that she attends!

We learned a few things:

  • The center has reached 280 children living in poverty (I’m assuming since the center opened, but I can’t be sure).
  • Most children in the area do not get beyond elementary school because of tuition costs.
  • Most families farm but the poor condition of the land and the lack of rain  means that most families can not grow enough food for sustenance, much less provide cash crops.
  • I knew that Compassion taught basics–reading, writing, arithmetic and, often, English–in addition to Bible studies.  The pastor also told us that they learn: games, carpentry, embroidery, tailoring, health/hygiene and environmental preservation. Their goal is to “enable the children to become full Christians who are self-reliant adults.”
  • The pastor also shared how the gospel spreads to entire families.  “For example, the whole family of two of our sponsored children decided to accept Jesus as their Lord and personal Savior of their lives. They are Christians now.” 🙂
  • My favorite part of the letter…”I am always so glad to see children, whose living conditions are extremely hard, full of joy and hope whenever they come here to the center, especially when they sing and dance.” I can picture the singing and dancing in my head; it makes me smile. 🙂

Pastor Mbise went on to say how much letter writing impacts the children, and encouraged us to continue to pray for the church in Tanzania and the ministry of Compassion. He also thanked us for our sponsorship “which is so great for Happyness.”

Then a man whom I have never met said…

I love you.

Isn’t it great to be a part of the family of God, where strangers can say “I love you” and mean it?

I have a special place in my heart for pastors (as you might know…since I’m married to one), but even the most difficult times that my husband faces in ministry will probably never compare to Pastor Mbise’s trials. He lives in a dry land, an AIDS-infected region, a place overrun with poverty and despair. As you say your prayers tonight, would you remember Tertio Mbise and his church?

Also, just out of curiosity, how many of you Compassion sponsors out there have ever received a letter from your child’s pastor/center director? I wasn’t sure if it was standard protocol or not.

This entry was posted in Compassion International and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Letter From a Compassion Pastor

  1. JD says:

    I have only received one letter from a Compassion project director, to tell us that our precious Emily (Honduras) had left the program due to her family’s move to another region not reached by Compassion. He affirmed that we had indeed made an impact on Emily’s life, and that our support was life changing.

    I love the letter you’ve received, I’d love to have center/region specific letters like that from all our sponsorships — it’s a beautiful way to start a sponsorship and help us understand and connect!

  2. Jessica says:

    Oh, I totally welled up when I got to the picture!

    *dabs eyes*

    And, I had completely forgotten about it, but I think long ago I did get a letter from a pastor of my first Compassion child, but I can’t remember what it said and I guess I didn’t save it.

  3. Natalie says:

    Yes, we got a letter, too. It was similar to yours in describing how the Compassion program impacts the community and its tone was heartfelt, too. Wonderful!

  4. Amy says:

    I got one after starting to sponsor my 2nd Compassion child. She is in Guatemala. I love that he said “I love you”. I’ve noticed that it feels okay to say it, even to strangers, ever since becoming a Christian. This is fabulous.

  5. Teena says:

    we received one too…. several months ago from our little boy’s pastor. It was such a great, wonderful surprise….

    thank you for sharing….

    Hugs,

  6. Megan says:

    I figured that it must be somewhat common for Compassion pastors to write because they have an official envelope printed. It made me think about all the people who are involved in helping Compassion kids. I think about the teachers, too.

Leave a Reply

