Having a Heart Like Jesus

Back in the days when we played “house” and Barbies instead of trying to figure out fractions and instant messaging, my Eldest would often whip out a plastic stethoscope and do “rounds” with all of the stuffed animals in her room.

One day, I got an exam, too.

“How does it sound?” I asked the doc.

“Sounds like Jesus.” she replied.

It was the best news I’d ever heard–in a doctor’s office or anywhere else!

Having a heart like Jesus is hard work. It’s unnatural. It’s against our nature. We don’t want to love our enemies, sometimes lying would be way more convenient and–dadgum it–selfishness can be more fun than selflessness!

I know that my three-year-old daughter was probably just taking the phrase “Jesus in your heart” literally, but I wonder if she saw anything in me that backed it up? Does she still? 

“For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”             Luke 12:34

Is it obvious that Jesus is my treasure, or does it seem like I treasure clean houses, cute shoes and paychecks more than I treasure him?

Do you give yourself a spiritual check-up? What do you do to make sure that you are trying to have a heart like Jesus?

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Having a Heart Like Jesus

  1. Amy says:

    I think you have a wonderful heart! I have only profited from knowing you. Your daughters see through what you say and do that Jesus is a priority in your life. Thank you for this post!

Leave a Reply

