If You’ve Got It, Flaunt It

 

When I was at my friend’s trendy boutique not too long ago, I decided to try on a pair of the über-hip jeans she had for sale. You know…the kind that’s all “blinged” out and fit almost as tight as O.J.’s glove.  They were super cute, but I was a little concerned that they wouldn’t be an appropriate addition for my parsonage closet.  As I was contemplating this while looking in the mirror, a sweet older lady spoke up.

“Honey, haven’t you ever heard the saying, ‘If you’ve got it, flaunt it?'”

I blushed. I laughed. I bought the jeans.

Flaunt is a funny word that we don’t use much–certainly not in Christian circles–but maybe we should. There are several defintions floating around in dictionary world, but the most appropriate is: to exhibit shamelessly. Check out Matthew 5:16:

“In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.”

I’ve got it–the forgiveness that comes through Jesus Christ, that is. Shouldn’t I flaunt it? Isn’t God asking me in this verse to shamelessly exhibit my faith?

Next question: Am I doing it?

One thing that surprised me as I reread this verse is that we are supposed to flaunt our LIGHT–the noticing of deeds and the glorifing of God comes after they have seen our light shining! Sometimes I get that turned around and I want to let my deeds do all the talking. After all, I’m a “doer” and a “fixer,” not so much a “talker.”

Unfortunately, the “preacher’s wife” title kind of gives me to much of a free pass. People think that I’m holy and righteous by default. To this, I enjoy a great big belly laugh! (Romans 3:10, people…come on!) But seriously, sometimes I let the title do all the talking. Most people know (or think they know) what I stand for without me having to say a word. Obviously, I love God, I believe in salvation through Jesus Christ, I believe the Bible is true, or I wouldn’t be married to an minister. Still, I find that the title can be a crutch; it can prevent me from saying things that need to be said.

So, how should I go about this shameless exhibition of my faith? How should I let my light shine before men? Do I get a ichthus tattoo and resolve to only wear Christian t-shirts? Should I rent out a billboard? Should I have my car wrapped with scripture?

Other people may have a more difficult time flaunting their faith with actions, but my battle is with words that are left unspoken. I think I need to start there.  Maybe I’ll work on the billboard next. 😉

What’s your struggle? Do you have a hard time flaunting your faith and letting your light shine?

This entry was posted in For Laughs, Life as a Preacher's Wife, Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If You’ve Got It, Flaunt It

  1. Kelli says:

    Hi Megan. Thanks for the comment and to answer your question – yes, I do have a hard time flaunting it…for Jesus that is. I have no problem flaunting what my mama gave me. 🙂 I loved this post! I don’t know why it’s so hard and intimidating except that I’m so conscious of not wanting to turn people off that I often undermind Christ in my life. This is definately food for thought for me. Thanks!

    • Megan says:

      Absolutely. I’m totally the same way. Sometimes I wonder if I would be less inhibited if I wasn’t “the preacher’s wife.” Like you said, sometimes I undermind Christ trying to be all things to all people. You know, I just want people to see me as “regular folk” instead of The Church Lady. My intentions are good–building relationships that lead to trust so that I can break out some Jesus–but I think I often do things backwards. So glad you stopped by. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

