Faith Like Mustard??

Why not ketchup or some other more tantalizing condiment? Faith like relish or faith like salsa, perhaps?

It all comes down to Matthew 13:31-32.

“…The kingdom of heaven is like a mustard seed, which a man took and planted in his field. Though it is the smallest of all seeds, yet when it grows, it is the largest of garden plants and becomes a tree, so that the birds come and perch in its branches.”

I’ve been a Christian for almost twenty years. I grew up in a Christian home and was nurtured by several churches. I grew up and married a minister. I have been and am currently involved in Bible studies and ministry opportunities galore.  My faith should be the size of a super-sized Big Mac combo, right?

I wish.

Truth is, every day is tough. I’m bombarded with doubts and insecurities, and I expect no less of any other Christian on the planet.

But there’s good news and it came from “The Man” (Jesus) himself in the verses above. He doesn’t need a huge, perfectly developed seed. He just needs a tiny bit–1/20th of an inch, if you want to get all technical on mustard seed sizes. He can take even a little bit of faith and turn it into something big. Something useful.

This blog is my attempt at thinking through challenging issues of faith. I also hope that it will become a scrapbook of sorts–something I can browse through after years have gone by and see how God took a tiny mustard seed-like faith and grew it into something bigger than I could have ever imagined.

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Faith Like Mustard??

  1. Meagan says:

    I think the title of your blog is great! And I can so relate to what you have said…I’ve been a Christian for going on 30 years, raised in a great Christian home, married a man who loves God and teaching His Word. And I often think, “Certainly I should be farther along than this.” My faith is so weak sometimes, but God is so good to remind me that His power is made perfect in weakness (2 Cor 12:9).

    I read through all your posts earlier and I appreciate your heart. Even in just these first few posts I have been challenged already! Thanks for sharing the things God is teaching you.

    • Megan says:

      I really struggled with a title, but I knew what I wanted the purpose of the blog to be: kind of a way to challenge myself and (hopefully) watch my faith grow. I’m totally with you on 2 Cor 12:9. Weak Christians…UNITE (um, that should include everybody)! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by & come back soon! 🙂

  2. JD says:

    Love the blog, love the title, love the reasons for the title.

    I grew up in a somewhat faith-challenging environment, and believed for a long time that my past was a disadvantage compared to someone who grew up within the church and in a nurturing environment… but I’m beginning to realize how much of a blessing it was, because it refined and strengthened my faith in beautiful ways.

    Really, though, even though we’re all in different places along the journey, we’re brothers and sisters of the One we’re following, we’re in this together and there is purpose for where we are in our journey – there is purpose IN the journey… it’s a beautiful thing.

    P.S. I’m trying to find your email address, I’d like to send you a blog invite, but I am not sure where to send it to…

Leave a Reply

