Growing New Wood

Photo Credit

A couple of weeks ago, my very poetic husband shared this insight:

Like that apple tree, I try to grow a little new wood each year.

Actually, my husband would not consider himself poetic at all. However, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow was; it’s his quote).

Sometimes, I get lost in the everyday. Sometimes I feel like I’m not progressing enough in my faith. I always think I could be doing more, learning more, being more…. This kind of thinking always leaves me in what Beth Moore-like pit. I start feeling defeated.

Then I remember: even the son of God grew in wisdom and in stature. Sometimes, things just take time. As much as I would like to see huge gains in my spiritual understanding, I should really be grateful that apple trees like me grow slowly. After all, the most important thing is to make sure I’m growing a little new wood each year.

Spiritually speaking, do you think that “slow and steady wins the race?” Why or why not?

This entry was posted in Spiritual Growth and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

