Dear Jason Gray: It’s NOT Like Falling in Love

Love ya! by  idea ablaze.  Shared under a Creative Commons License.

 

Dear Jason Gray,

I have a love/hate relationship your song,”More Like Falling in Love.”

First of all, the tune is catchy and I find it impossible not to turn it up and sing along to when it comes on the radio.

But then there’s the lyrics…

More Like Falling in Love by Jason Gray
Give me rules, I will break them
Show me lines, I will cross them
I need more than a truth to believe
I need a truth that lives, moves, and breathes
To sweep me off my feet, it’s gotta be
{Chorus}
More like falling in love than something to believe in
More like losing my heart than giving my allegiance
Caught up, called out, come take a look at me now
It’s like I’m falling, oh
It’s like I’m falling in love

Give me words, I’ll misuse them
Obligations, I’ll misplace them
‘Cause all religion ever made of me
Was just a sinner with a stone tied to my feet
It never set me free, it’s gotta be

Deeper and deeper
It was love that made me a believer
In more than a name, a faith, a creed
Falling in love with Jesus brought the change in me, it’s gotta be {Chorus}

I get your point. Really, I do. So many people feel like religion is nothing more than a ball and chain. If a person’s faith IS their religion and not based in a relationship with a living Savior, then I have no argument there.

It’s this whole “falling in love” bit that bothers me. What does it mean to “fall in love?” We always associate that phrase with the newness of a relationship–a giddy, bubbly, warm-fuzzy feeling. The key word there is FEELING…but love is more than a feeling.

Ask anyone whose been married very long: you don’t always FEEL like you love your spouse. Some days, the only thing you may feel like doing is rolling your eyes at him/her or perhaps throwing a heavy object across the room at him/her. Sometimes the only thing that binds a marriage together during the down times is that “until death do us part” allegiance.

Which brings me back to the chorus: “more like losing my heart, than giving my allegiance.”

I absolutely, 100% believe that an allegiance is the best thing a person could have with Jesus. Similar to a marriage relationship, there’s some days when we don’t understand (or want to understand) Jesus, some days when we don’t even like him, some days when we just feel too tired/depressed/distracted to care. Sometimes, it’s our allegiance–our pledge to follow Christ all of our days–is the only thing that keeps our relationship with Him intact through the ups and downs that we are going to have in this ol’ world. Without allegiance, we’re just a weak person left to the fickleness of our emotions.

So, yes…
“It was love that made me a believer
In more than a name, a faith, a creed
Falling in love with Jesus brought the change in me”
…but it is my allegiance that has kept me from falling away.

Sincerely,
Megan

This entry was posted in Good Music, Spiritual Growth and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dear Jason Gray: It’s NOT Like Falling in Love

  1. That song is like nails on a chalk-board to me. I liked the tune initially but when I really listened to the words, they irritated me. I agree with you 100%. My husband and I often talk about the difference between “falling in love” and “being in love”. We had a crazy, passionate beginning to our relationship but while that was fun, it is the stable and secure love we have now that stands solidly. (Though I do sometimes wish I could have bottled up some of that passion!) I also don’t want my girls memorizing and singing about breaking rules and crossing lines. They’re so impressionable now and not in a place to think through the actions and consequences of things like that.

    • Megan says:

      The “rules” but bothered me, too. I get it–we are all rebellious–but part of obedience is overcoming our desire to be rebellious.

  2. Amy D. says:

    Oh, yeah. There are days that the allegiance I promised on the altar is the ONLY thing saving our marriage.

  3. Jessica says:

    Ohh yes. Anyone who’s been married very long (or read many biblical marriage books) learns that love is not a feeling. Love is a choice.

  4. Dear Megan – you might be interested in a series of blogs I’m reposting about this song. the first one is up: http://www.rabbitroom.com/?p=12156

    I hope that this clarifies the intention of the lyric.

    If you’re feeling really ambitious, check out the whole series I posted last year about all the lyrics and the meaning behind each line: http://www.jesusfreakhideout.com/jfhblog/template_archives_cat.asp?cat=35

    I’m grateful that you engaged the lyric (and am delighted that you couldn’t get it out of your head ;-)

    Grace and peace,

    Jason Gray

  5. Pingback: Behind the Music {Lyrics} | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a Reply

