Sunday Smorgasbord

I’m not really a big lover of Valentines Day, but it is a chance to make some fun foods and engage in craftiness. Saltwater Kids had some great candy-free Valentines gift ideas and flibbertigibberish shared a tutorial on how to make some adorable “I Love You” necklaces  that would be cute for friends, grandparents or even Compassion kids any ol’ time of the year! Nannygoat posted an idea for a Valentine’s cookie bouquet.

Sidenote: have you ever considered celebrating your child’s spiritual birthday (the day they were saved)? When I worked at a university, a mom sent her daughter a cookie bouquet each year to celebrate her spiritual birthday; I thought that was a really neat idea!

This week, I’ve been thinking a lot about getting back to the healthy eating habits that we have really been slacking off on lately. Here’s a quick list of the top 30 super foods from Going Home to Roost. I’m going to start incorporating more of these good eats back into our diet.

My favorite link of the week (drumroll please)…..the online recipe and meal planner from Plan to Eat! I know I am much less frazzled and we eat better when I plan ahead. I’ve tried binders and what-not, but I’ve never found a really easy, not-very-time-consuming system…until now! This online system stores your recipes, has a calendar so you can plan your meals AND it will automatically create a grocery list from the recipes that you have scheduled to use. SCORE! It does cost a little over $3/month for the yearly plan, but that’s a little for a whole lot of sanity, in my opinion. They do have a free 30 day trial, so you can give it a whirl first. I plan on starting my free trial later this week (we are in the middle of revival services at church, so I already have meals scheduled for most of the week already).

Anybody find any cool links you’d like to share?

This entry was posted in Crafts, Holidays, Link Love and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sunday Smorgasbord

  1. Jessica says:

    I saw this easy valentines idea on Familyfun this week and am considering doing it with the Ten Year Old. :)

    http://familyfun.go.com/crafts/friendship-blossoms-825185/

    • Megan says:

      I like it. I like it a lot! I’m a big fan of Family Fun. I used to get the magazine but I ended up feeling like an epic failure because there were so many cute ideas that I never got around to trying!

      • Jessica says:

        Someone gave me the subscription as a gift one year, too. But I didn’t renew it. Now I just peruse the website during major holidays seasons. :)

Leave a Reply

