Oh Origami!

It’s that time again….time to write our Compassion kids!

The theme this month: Origami. Specifically puppy origami.

In case you’ve never heard of it, origami is Japanese paper-folding. There’s a million, trillion things you can make. We’re just partial to pups.

The Eldest went on an origami kick a few months back, so I asked her to make something for our Compassion kiddos and make an instructional page to go along with it.

How to Make an Origami Dog

So, this is what she whipped up (with a little help from mom). I tried to make the instructions easy and used simple words so the translators won’t have a hard time.

She made each kid an origami dog and she even bundled up some of the origami paper (that she purchased with her own money) to send with our letters. We are going to suggest that they make a dog to share with their friends and siblings.

Origami is not that difficult and all you need is square paper to get started! Here are some sites with easy origami instructions:

Kids Web Japan

Origami Resource Center

Origami Fun

Origami Tube (videos)

Simple Origami

If you would like a copy of our printable “How to make an oragami dog” instructions, you can e-mail me at faithlikemustard at gmail dot com.

Tell me about some of the fun things you like to mail to your Compassion kids…or anyone, for that matter. (Who doesn’t like to get mail?)

This entry was posted in Compassion International, Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Oh Origami!

  1. Amy says:

    I love origami.

    This isn’t ORIGINAL by any means, but in this day and age of electronic communication, texting, emailing, facebooking, etc… I like to sit down and write in a card and then drop it in the mail for a friend, an acquaintance or a loved one. I keep a book of stamps, cards and stickers handy specifically for this purpose. I love thinking about how surprised they will be to get a little dose of happiness in with bills, collection notices, junk mail, etc. 🙂

    Oh… and for my girls, I made this: http://www.marthastewart.com/article/no-sew-fancy-kids-pocketbook

    I printed up the template and cut it out of scrapbook paper. I decorated the outside and then wrote a letter on the inside. It turned out really cute. 🙂 I also sent this:

    Oh, well, can’t find the link. I googled line drawings and found one that said Jesus Loves you (or me) and then colored it in, framed it with cardstock. It was really cute.

  2. Jessica says:

    That’s pretty sweet!

  3. Oh I LOVE this! May I link to this idea for my next Sponsor letter? I usually just send activity pages, fun colored cardstock, punch-outs, stickers, etc. But this seems like so much fun!

  4. Pingback: My Mailbox Runneth Over | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a comment