My New Compassion Amigo: José

I got an early Christmas gift in the mail this weekend.

I got assigned to become a Compassion Child Correspondent to little José in Peru!

What is a Child Correspondent? As I’ve mentioned before, the letter-writing component of Compassion’s program is considered a very important part of the overall mission of saving kids from poverty. Sometimes, there are people or groups who are willing to pay the monthly sponsorship fees but don’t have the time or desire to nurture a relationship with a child. If you are one of those people, it’s really important that you let Compassion know so that a Correspondent can be assigned. The only thing worse than being a kid with no sponsor, is being a kid whose sponsor never writes.

Correspondents just step in as pen pals of sorts to give them emotional, intellectual and spiritual encouragement. I’ve mentioned before that I’ve always been a letter-writer, so when I heard about the Correspondence program, I called to sign up right away. 

If you are interesting in becoming a Correspondent, you can call Compassion at 800-336-7676 and they will place you on a waiting list until a need arises. I was on the waiting list for a little over a month. You can read more about the Correspondent program HERE.

Back to José…He has two siblings, lives with both parents and attends kindergarten. He likes to play cars, draw and play ball.

This is going to be a real challenge for me. I’m used to all girls all the time: I grew up with two sisters, have two daughters and my nieces are all girls as well. This journey into the great unknown boy world should be interesting…

…but who could resist that adorable little half-smirk?

This entry was posted in Compassion International and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My New Compassion Amigo: José

  1. Jessica says:

    Arg, so cute! I’m also on the waiting list for my first correspondence child, but I don’t think it’s been a month yet. I keep checking my compassion account online to see if there are any surprise correspondents. :) I can’t wait!

  2. Look at that sweet and mischevious half-smirk!! Love it!

  3. Rebecca says:

    He is sweet! Correspondence sponsorship is so great…especially for those who have “sponsoritis”, but not the funds to back it up :) Congratulations on your new family member!

  4. Amy says:

    Oh, yes, I have sponsoritis. I am impatient too! I have been on the waiting list for almost a month and obsessively check my account. LOL. However, I know that God has the perfect child picked for me. :-)

  5. Pingback: “I am going to tell you about the Christmas story.” | Faith Like Mustard

  6. Pingback: If I had mailed you a Christmas card… {2010-in-Review} | Faith Like Mustard

  7. Pingback: Boys Will Be Boys {It’s a Worldwide Phenomenon} | Faith Like Mustard

  8. Pingback: My Mailbox Runneth Over | Faith Like Mustard

Leave a Reply

